Apple Expands Third-Party Repairer Program Globally

Apple has announced that its independent repair program will soon be extended to more than 200 countries, that is, almost all countries where Apple products are sold. As part of this program, all participating independent repairers will have access to free training from Apple, as well as the same original Apple parts, tools, service manuals, and diagnostics for out-of-warranty repairs to Apple products, at same price as Apple Authorized Service Providers (AASP) and Apple Stores.

While membership in the program is free, Apple said to be eligible, repair service providers “must agree to have an Apple certified technician perform the repairs.”

The program was initially launched in 2019 in the United States before expanding to Europe and Canada last year. There are now more than 1,500 independent repair supplier sites across these three countries, according to Apple.

Right to reparation that changes everything

The program will be extended to the following countries and regions: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brazil, Brunei, Cambodia, Korea, United Arab Emirates, Cook Islands, Fiji, Guam, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Macao, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Tonga, Turkey, Vanuatu and Vietnam.

The program will then be launched later this year in these countries and regions: Albania, Algeria, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bermuda , Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Costa Rica, Curaçao, Democratic Republic of Congo and Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea-Bissau, Republic of Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Iraq, Israel, Côte d’Ivoire, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, West Indies Dutch, Nicaragu a, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Oman, Palestine, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Rwanda, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Saint Martin, Somalia, South Sudan, Spanish Virgin Islands, St. Barthelemy, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucie, St. Martin, St. Pierre and Miquelon, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Surinam, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, US Virgin Islands, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Wallis, Futuna, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

The Cupertino giant has been criticized in the past for locking out the activity of independent repairers and only allowing repairs carried out by AASP.

Earlier this month, new rules were introduced to allow some electrical devices sold in Europe to be repairable for 10 years. These are all new washing machines, hairdryers, refrigerators and screens, including televisions. European countries are thus taking a further step towards the introduction of a universal “right of repair” for electronic consumer goods, which would help reduce electronic waste and encourage manufacturers to make durability and repairability. a key part of product design. The next step in the proposed right to repair legislation – which was passed by the European Parliament last November – aims to extend similar requirements to smartphones, laptops and other consumer electronics, which currently represent a significant share of electronic waste in Europe.

Source: “.com”

Back to top button