Coronavirus: mandatory test at airports for travelers returning from 16 countries

French travelers or travelers residing in France from 16 countries classified as red must now be screened to enter the territory. Jean Castex had announced Friday, July 24: since Saturday, passengers taking the plane from countries where the coronavirus is actively circulating must undergo a screening test at airports, whether it is the one of departure or arrival .

This measure only concerns French residents, since the border with these countries at risk is closed. The countries concerned are: United States, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Panama, South Africa, Kuwait, Qatar, Israel, Brazil, Peru, Serbia, Algeria, Turkey , Madagascar, India and Oman.

A PCR test when showing your passport

For those who have been asked, in the country of departure, before boarding the plane, to provide a negative test for the coronavirus, there will only be a need to show this document to the French authorities. This is the case for travelers from the United States for example.

The others, who come from twelve countries including Israel, Brazil, Algeria and Turkey, must undergo a PCR test upon arrival in France. In Roissy, it’s time to show your passport. They must then leave their contact details. Test results are communicated within 36 hours. If the result is positive the traveler must self-isolate for up to 10 days. The regional health agencies and the Health Insurance are monitoring this fortnight and trace any contacts on French soil.


Related Articles

Back to top button