Covid-19: Algeria removed from European list. Morocco under observation

Algeria is experiencing a marked deceleration in the spread of the coronavirus.

More than three African countries in the updated list of countries exempt from restrictions in the European Union. Algeria was in fact removed from the list published on July 30 and which includes 12 countries: Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China. with a condition of reciprocity.

Algeria’s withdrawal follows those of Serbia and Montenegro. The presence of China on the list remains subject to a condition of reciprocity. According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), as of Thursday 12:09 a.m. CEST (10:09 a.m. GMT), Algeria had reported 29,229 confirmed cases and 1,186 deaths.

Morocco has been kept on the list, but remains under surveillance if the health situation worsens.

The various countries admitted without restrictions present an estimated situation similar to that of Europe with the number of Covid-19 cases not exceeding 16 per 100,000 inhabitants over the last 14 days.

Note that many African countries individually brandish the threat of reciprocity. After Senegal, Gabon and Guinea, the DRC raised the tone. Thus, the Minister of State in charge of Foreign Affairs, Marie Tumba Nzeza, informed the Council of Ministers, held on Friday July 31, that she had summoned the Ambassador of the European Union to find out more about the reasons the exclusion of the DRC from the list of beneficiaries. The DRC is studying the possibility of applying reciprocity towards the European Union.


Related Articles

Back to top button