Reviews

How to delete posts on Instagram

Social media engagement sometimes leads to conversations or messages that you would rather forget or delete forever. If you want to edit conversations or delete Instagram posts. You might be interested to know that the Meta development team, formerly known as Facebook, provides you with an easy way to delete a post from the Instagram Direct app. If you want to clean up your account and delete those unwanted conversations, this quick guide will walk you through the process of deleting and permanently deleting your Instagram posts.

Delete conversations on Instagram

Whether you’re using iOS or Android, simply open the Instagram app on your phone or tablet and follow the steps below to delete your Instagram conversations and messages.

1. In the Instagram app, select the paper airplane or Messenger icon in the top right corner of the feed.

2. This will provide a list of all your Instagram conversations.

3. On iOS devices and iPhones, simply swipe left on the conversation you want to delete and Meta will magically remove it from your feed.

4. On Android devices, simply press and hold your finger on the conversation or messages you want to delete.

5. The application will then ask you to confirm your choice by clicking Remove.

Once you’ve deleted unwanted messages and conversations from Instagram Direct, they will no longer appear in your inbox. However, they will still be available to other Instagram users and people who participated in the conversation. It’s also worth remembering that your data upload file doesn’t include messages you haven’t sent or conversations you’ve deleted from your Instagram account.

How to delete posts on Instagram

If you want to unsend or delete a message you sent using Instagram Direct, follow the instructions below.

1. Log in to the Instagram app and select the feed icon in the top right corner of the screen. This is usually a paper airplane or Messenger icon.

2. Select again the conversation containing the messages you want to delete.

3. Navigate to the message you want to delete or unsend.

4. Tap and hold on the message to open the Undo Send option.

5. Confirm that you want to unsend the message when asked.

Keep in mind that even though you’re deleting, or rather unsending, a message, other participants in the conversation may have already read it. Once you’ve deleted an Instagram post, it will no longer show up for people to see it included in a conversation.

Unfortunately, Facebook, and more specifically Meta, does not provide the ability to delete multiple conversations or multiple messages at the same time in the Instagram app. Therefore, you will need to repeat the processes listed above for each message or conversation that you want to delete from the app.

If you have a huge number of messages or conversations that need to be deleted from Instagram Direct, there are third party apps and services that are available to automate the process, but those are for another article later. For now, Google “automates actions on your phone” will quickly list the latest apps, although there are more available for Android than for iOS due to Apple’s restrictive terms that prevent developers from performing certain actions from within their apps.

If you still don’t know how to delete messages or conversations from your Instagram app and want to communicate directly with Instagram support, please go to the official help center.

Filed under: Guides, Breaking news

Latest Geeky Gadgets Deals

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.