Reviews

How to disable iPhone location tracking

Many apps on your iPhone can use location tracking. This article shows you how to disable location tracking on your device.

Apple’s iPhone comes with a great privacy feature that gives you more control over your information and your privacy. You can change them and choose which features you want to use and which you don’t.

It is possible to completely disable iPhone location tracking for individual apps as well as on your device. If you choose to disable it completely, some features may not work on your iPhone.

How to turn off location tracking completely?

If you want to completely turn off location tracking on your iPhone, you can do so from the settings menu on your phone.

What you need to do is open the Settings app on your iPhone and then scroll down to “Privacy” then select “Location Services” and you will see a toggle switch next to “Location Services”. By default it is enabled and green, slide the switch to the left and location services will be disabled.

Location Services is now disabled on your iPhone, except when you use the Find My app on your device. If you are using this app, location services will be temporarily restored, this will also happen if you turn on Lost Mode on your iPhone.

How to disable location services for individual apps

If you’d like to choose which of your apps can use your location instead of completely turning off the feature, you can do so on a perapp basis. This is probably the best option of the two for you as it will only affect this app and not all location services on your device.

To do this on your iPhone, go to Settings and then Privacy, now select Location Services and scroll down where all apps are listed.

Select the app you want and then select one of the available options, you can choose “Never” and your location will never be used with this app.

Another option is “Ask next time or when I share.” The next time you ask if the app wants to use your location. You can also select “When Using the App” or “Always” as the options to share your location within the app.

These are the main options available to disable location tracking on iPhone. Personally, I usually disable this feature for individual applications. Most apps don’t really need your location, only certain apps need this information.

Disabling this feature for individual apps gives you more control over your privacy so that apps that need the feature will still have access to it. If you turn it off completely, no apps will be able to use your location. You can learn more about these features on iPhone on the Apple website.

We hope you find this guide helpful. If you have any questions about location services on iPhone, leave a comment below and let us know.

Image credit: Bagus Ernavan

Headings: Apple, Apple iPhone, Manuals

Latest Geeky Gadgets Deals

Back to top button