Science

How to watch the lunar eclipse of the Blood Moon on November 8 online, the latest until 2025

On November 8th, an amazing sight will open on the Moon that you won’t see again until 2025: a total lunar eclipse will turn Earth’s nearest neighbor an eerie blood red hue. If you plan to watch it online, you have several free options.

The lunar eclipse of the Beaver Blood Moon, as it is called (it occurs during the Beaver Full Moon in November), will begin at 3:02 AM EST (08:02 GMT) and reach its full value at 5:16 AM EST (10:16 GMT), and will end at 8 o’clock. :56 am EST (13:56 GMT). According to NASA, the blood moon phase will be visible from North and Central America, as well as from Hawaii, Alaska and parts of South America, Asia, Australia and New Zealand. (will open in a new tab).

A map showing where the lunar eclipse is visible on November 8, 2022. The contours mark the boundary of the field of view at the moment of contact with the eclipse. (Image credit: NASA Goddard Space Flight Center/Science Imaging Studio)

This will be the last lunar eclipse of 2022 and, in fact, the last eclipse of any type this year. But what if the weather clouded your idea of ​​a full moon? Below is a summary of the November 8 total lunar eclipse webcasts we have found so far.

If you want to photograph the moon, check out our guides on how to photograph a lunar eclipse and how to photograph the moon with a camera for some helpful tips on planning a lunar photo shoot. Our roundup of the best cameras for astrophotography and the best lenses for astrophotography can help too.

Read more: Guide to Lunar Eclipses: When, Where and How to See Them

TimeandDate.com Blood Moon Lunar Eclipse Webcast

TimeandDate.com will stream the total lunar eclipse live starting at 4:00 AM EDT (09:00 GMT) on November 8th.

The webcast will show views of most of the lunar eclipse, including a total one, and will be accompanied by a live blog from TimeandDate.com. (will open in a new tab) showcasing various milestones of the eclipse, including what else you can see in the night sky during the morning eclipse.

You can watch the live stream on the eclipse blog TimeandDate.com or directly on YouTube. (will open in a new tab).

RELATED: Amazing Photos of the 2022 Super Flower Blood Moon Lunar Eclipse

Lowell Observatory Lunar Eclipse Webcast

The Lowell Observatory in Flagstaff, Arizona will also offer a free live stream of the lunar eclipse at 4:00 AM EST (09:00 GMT).

The webcast will be streamed live on the Lowell Observatory YouTube page (it will be 2 a.m. local time in Arizona) and will include live commentary by Lowell historian Kevin Schindler and lunar expert John Compton, according to the event description. Live commentary will go through the totality.

“Stay with us until late for the total lunar eclipse on November 8th!” The observatory tweeted. (will open in a new tab), adding that the webcast will be available for those who do not plan to watch it live. “We have an evening live broadcast from 2:00 to 5:00 Moscow time. Join us live for a cup of coffee or revisit after a good night’s sleep. Set a review reminder at https://youtu.be/DsXS3iDs0yA. (will open in a new tab)!”

Virtual Telescope Project blood moon eclipse webcast

The online virtual telescope project, led by astrophysicist Gianluca Masi, will offer a live stream of the lunar eclipse starting at 4:30 AM EST (09:30 GMT). Masi will be webcasting from Ceccano, Italy, but live will feature an international team of astrophotographers and line-of-sight observers.

The webcast will be streamed via YouTube (will open in a new tab) and on the Virtual Telescope website. (will open in a new tab).

“Next November 8, 2022, the Beaver Moon will offer us a magnificent total eclipse visible from Australia, Asia and America. present to you the stunning beauty of such a unique event,” Masi wrote in the description (will open in a new tab). “A great example of cooperation across geographic boundaries!”

Griffith Observatory Blood Moon Eclipse Webcast

This NASA chart shows the stages of the total lunar eclipse on November 8, 2022 ET as the Moon moves from right to left. (Image credit: NASA Goddard Space Flight Center/Science Imaging Studio)

The iconic Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles, California will offer its own live stream of the lunar eclipse starting at 3:00 AM ET (12:00 AM PST, 0800 GMT). It will run until 9:00 AM ET (6:00 AM PT, 2:00 PM GMT).

While the webcast link is not yet available, it will be streamed live on YouTube and you can visit the Griffith Observatory YouTube page. (will open in a new tab) or sign up for alerts there to know when it goes live.

“November 8th, the 100% round disk of the Full Moon is slowly fading into a dark shadow, and the bright Moon is dimming. However, the moon does not go completely dark,” the observatory wrote in a description of the event. Instead, it usually glows copper or red as a result of sunlight being filtered and refracted by the earth’s atmosphere (much like a sunset).”

Griffith Observatory will not be open for in-person viewing of the lunar eclipse, but will offer a time-lapse video of the event on its YouTube page at approximately 11:00 AM EST (8:00 AM PST, 4:00 PM GMT).

How do lunar eclipses happen and when is the next

Total lunar eclipses occur when the Moon passes behind the Earth in relation to the Sun. This sends the Moon into the Earth’s shadow, blocking out the sunlight that normally illuminates the Moon when viewed from the Earth’s surface.

Because the moon’s orbit around the earth is tilted, it doesn’t pass through the darkest part of the earth’s shadow, called the shadow, every month. When it passes through only part of the Earth’s shadow, it creates a partial lunar eclipse. During a total lunar eclipse, the entire Moon is in Earth’s shadow, turning it blood red due to light refracting through Earth’s atmosphere.

According to NASA, a total lunar eclipse occurs every 1.5 years or so, but there can be multiple eclipses in a year. The November 8 Blood Moon is the second total lunar eclipse of 2022 and follows the Super Flower Blood Moon eclipse in May.

The next total lunar eclipse after November 8 will occur on March 13, 2025. According to NASA’s eclipse website, this year will also see a second total lunar eclipse on September 7, 2025. In 2023 and 2024, the Moon will experience either a partial lunar eclipse, when only part of the Moon passes through the shadow, or a very faint penumbral eclipse, when the Moon plunges into the outermost layer of the Earth’s shadow, called the penumbra. .

Editor’s Note: If you’ve taken an amazing photo of a lunar eclipse and would like to share it with Space.com readers, please send your photos, comments, name, and location to spacephotos@.

Write to Tarik Malik at tmalik@ (will open in a new tab) or follow him @tariqjmalik (will open in a new tab). Follow us @Spacedotcom (will open in a new tab)facebook (will open in a new tab) and instagram (will open in a new tab).

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.