Science

Launch of the Russian module to the space station on Wednesday morning: watch live

A new Russian module will launch towards the International Space Station (ISS) on Wednesday morning (November 24) and you will be able to see the action live.

A modified Progress cargo ship topped with the Prichal docking module is scheduled to take off on a Russian Soyuz rocket from

Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan on Wednesday at 8:06 am EST (1306 GMT). You can see it live here and on the Space.com home page, courtesy of NASA, or directly through the space agency. NASA’s live coverage will begin at 7:45 am EST (1245 GMT).

Progress will deliver Prichal to the ISS on Friday (November 24). The new module will automatically dock with Russia’s Nauka multipurpose module on Friday at 10:26 am EST (1526 GMT), if all goes according to plan.

Related: International Space Station at 8:00 PM: A Photo Tour

Nauka is also a relatively new addition, arriving at the orbiting lab on July 29. Nauka’s arrival was full of unwanted drama; The module’s thrusters fired unplanned after docking, causing the ISS to rotate about 540 degrees.

A similar incident occurred on October 15, when the thrusters of the Russian Soyuz MS-18 spacecraft continued firing after the conclusion of a planned test prior to departure. That event spun the station about 57 degrees, according to Russian news reports.

The 4-ton spherical Prichal, whose name in Russian means “dock,” will provide five additional docking ports to the Russian segment of the ISS, according to RussianSpaceWeb.com, which describes the module in great detail.

Mike Wall is the author of “Out There” (Grand Central Publishing, 2018; illustrated by Karl Tate), a book about the search for extraterrestrial life. Follow him on Twitter @michaeldwall. Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom or on Facebook.

Business Consulting Nulled, WeaPlay, Elementor Pro Weadown, PHP Script, Slider Revolution Nulled, Newspaper – News & WooCommerce WordPress Theme, Avada 7.4 Nulled, Fs Poster Plugin Nulled, Wpml Nulled, Elementor Pro Weadown, Flatsome Nulled,Woodmart Theme Nulled, Jannah Nulled, WordPress Theme, Astra Pro Nulled, Rank Math Seo Pro Weadown, Yoast Nulled, Dokan Pro Nulled, Nulledfire, Wordfence Premium Nulled, Woodmart Theme Nulled, Consulting 6.1.4 Nulled, Jnews 8.1.0 Nulled, Premium Addons for Elementor, Plugins, PW WooCommerce Gift Cards Pro Nulled, WP Reset Pro, Woocommerce Custom Product Ad, Newspaper 11.2

Back to top button