Science

The first solar eclipse of 2022 has begun and here it is!

The moment that sky watchers have been waiting for has arrived: the first solar eclipse of the year has begun.

A partial solar eclipse on April 30 began at approximately 2:45 pm EDT (6:45 pm GMT), according to Timeanddate.com, which streams live views from Argentina and Chile. However, the eclipse was first visible over the Southern Ocean off the coast of Antarctica, where few skywatchers could observe the solar eclipse.

It took about an hour for the moon’s shadow to reach the southern tip of South America and become more accessible to skywatchers. A Timeanddate.com broadcast from El Colorado, Chile, about 30 miles (50 kilometers) from Santiago, showed the first views of the sun with a distinctive missing “bite” clearly visible a little after 4:30 pm EDT (20:30 GMT ). You can watch the eclipse live on Space.com, courtesy of Timeanddate.com.

On the subject: How to watch the solar eclipse in April 2022 online

Solar Eclipse Photography Guide:

The Moon’s shadow, and in turn the partial eclipse, will continue on a northeasterly path until it disappears into sunset over South America, ending at 6:37 pm EDT (22:37 GMT).

However, before that moment arrives, the eclipse may offer some more beautiful views. The moment of greatest eclipse will occur at 4:41 pm EDT (20:41 GMT) over the Southern Ocean. In addition to the feed from El Colorado, Timeanddate.com also offers views from Santa Eufemia, Argentina during the current broadcast.

View of the early stages of a partial solar eclipse on April 30, 2022, as seen from El Colorado outside of Santiago, Chile. (Image credit: TimeandDate.com)

Whether you’re missing today’s eclipse, or you just want to see more of the sky in your life, the next eclipse will be a total lunar eclipse starting May 15; The next solar eclipse will occur on October 25th.

You can prepare for the next solar eclipse with our guide on how to photograph a solar eclipse safely. Our guides to the best cameras for astrophotography and the best lenses for astrophotography will help you find the camera you need to create your own shots.

Email Meghan Bartels at mbartels@ or follow her on Twitter @meghanbartels. Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.

Back to top button