Science

Watch as Event Horizon’s ‘groundbreaking’ discovery of the Milky Way made online this week.

The Event Horizon Telescope (EHT) has discovered something incredible in the Milky Way galaxy – what its team calls “groundbreaking”. But what exactly this discovery is, we will not know until Thursday (May 12).

The Event Horizon Telescope (EHT) team teased the opening online, but the full announcement will be made during a series of press conferences at 9am EST (1300 GMT) hosted by institutions around the world. The opening events of the Milky Way will also be streamed online for all to see. Following the press conferences, the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the European Southern Observatory (ESO) will host independent Q&A panels, which will also be streamed online.

The EHT is a network of radio telescopes around the world that primarily studies black holes. In 2019, the EHT similarly teased a new discovery that turned out to be the first ever image of a black hole. Whatever the opening, it is sure to be exciting. Below are the details of the live webcasts where the EHT announcements will be broadcast, as well as subsequent Q&A sessions.

On the subject: 8 ways to find out that black holes really exist

National Science Foundation

May 12, 9:00 AM EST (13:00 GMT)

The NSF will hold its press conference in Washington DC with live video streaming online on the NSF website and the foundation’s Facebook page.

European Southern Observatory

May 12, 15:00 CET (13:00 GMT)

ESO, which manages some of the facilities involved in the Event Horizon telescope’s observations, will hold its press conference in Garching bei München, Germany, near Munich. The live video will be streamed on the ESO website and YouTube channel.

National Council for Science and Technology (CONACyT)

May 12, 8:00 a.m. CST (13:00 GMT)

Mexico’s national scientific agency CONACyT will hold its press conference in Mexico City, which will be broadcast on the agency’s YouTube channel.

ALMA Joint Observatory

The South Pole Telescope at the National Science Foundation’s Amundsen-Scott South Pole Station in Antarctica, which is part of the Event Horizon Telescope Array. (Image credit: Dr. Daniel Michalik/NSF)

May 12, 9:00 CLT (13:00 GMT)

The ALMA Joint Observatory, which includes NRAO/NAOJ/ESO’s Atacama Large Millimeter/Submillimeter Array (ALMA) and ESO’s Atacama Pathfinder Experiment (APEX), both participating in the Event Horizon telescope’s observing campaigns, will host its press. conference in Vitacura, Chile. Watch the live broadcast on the ALMA observatory website.

Q&A panels after the announcement

National Science Foundation, 10:30 AM EST (2:30 PM GMT)

Following the main announcement, the NSF will host a Q&A session with the EHT research team. It will be streamed online on the NSF website and on the foundation’s Facebook page.

European Southern Observatory Q&A, 16:30 CEST (14:30 GMT)

ESO will also host a Q&A session with the EHT research team, which the public can watch on their YouTube channel.

Follow Stefanie Waldek on Twitter @StefanieWaldek. Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.

Back to top button