Science

Watch Live: SpaceX’s Crew-5 Prepares for International Space Station Launch

Another commercial crew is already on its way to space, and you can watch everything that happens live.

SpaceX’s Crew Dragon will send four people to the International Space Station (ISS), including the first Native American woman in space and the first Russian cosmonaut to take a seat on a commercial spacecraft. Crew-5 is scheduled to launch at 1200 ET (1600 GMT) on Wednesday (October 5), and you can watch it live here on Space.com, on NASA TV, and get updates on NASA website, app, and social media. .

The spacecraft will carry NASA astronauts Nicole Mann (a member of the Wailaki Round Valley Native American tribes in northern California) and Josh Kassada, as well as Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) astronaut Koichi Wakata and Roscosmos cosmonaut Anna Kikina.

On the subject: NASA SpaceX Crew-5 astronauts are ready for a historic mission

NASA TV (and Space.com) will cover (will open in a new tab) all pre-flight and flight activities, from the results of the launch readiness check to the docking with the ISS. The list of key events is given below. Please note that some of these times may change due to operational requirements.

Monday, October 3

19:30 EDT (2330 GMT) – Pre-launch news conference call at Kennedy Space Center in Florida (no earlier than one hour after completion of launch readiness checks). The following participants will take part in the press conference:

  • Steve Stitch, Commercial Crew Program Manager, Kennedy Space Center
  • Joel Montalbano, International Space Station Manager, Johnson Space Center
  • Emily Nelson, Chief Flight Officer, Johnson Space Center
  • Kirt Costello, Chief Scientist at NASA’s International Space Station.
  • Benji Reid, Senior Director of Human Spaceflight Programs, SpaceX
  • Junichi Sakai, International Space Station Manager, JAXA
  • Sergey Krikalev, Executive Director of the Manned Space Flight Program, Roscosmos
  • Brian Cizek, launch weather officer for the 45th U.S. Space Force Weather Squadron.

From left: Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency astronaut Koichi Wakata, NASA’s Nicole Mann and Josh Kassada, and astronaut Anna Kikina wave on October 1, 2022 after arriving at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center prior to the launch of the SpaceX Crew-5 mission. (Image credit: NASA/Joel Kouski)

Wednesday, October 5

8:30 AM EST (1230 GMT) – NASA TV launch broadcast begins.

12:00 ET (16:30 GMT) Crew-5 launch.

1:30 pm EDT (5:30 pm GMT) Post-launch press conference on NASA TV with the following attendees:

  • Kathy Lueders, Associate Administrator, Office of Human Exploration and Exploitation Missions, NASA Headquarters
  • Steve Stitch, Commercial Crew Program Manager, Kennedy Space Center
  • Joel Montalbano, International Space Station Manager, Johnson Space Center
  • Benji Reid, Senior Director of Human Spaceflight Programs, SpaceX
  • Hiroshi Sasaki, Vice President and General Manager, JAXA Manned Space Flight Technology Office
  • Sergey Krikalev, Executive Director of the Manned Space Flight Program, Roscosmos

Thursday, October 6

4:57 pm EDT (20:57 GMT) – Docking with the International Space Station.

6:42 pm EDT (22:42 GMT) – Manhole opening

20:15 ET (00:15 GMT, Friday, October 7th) – welcome ceremony.

Follow Elizabeth Howell on Twitter @howellspace (will open in a new tab). Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom (will open in a new tab) or facebook (will open in a new tab).

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.