Science

When is the Super Flower Blood Moon lunar eclipse?

The total lunar eclipse of the Blood Moon will occur this weekend, and here’s when to watch it.

The Sun, Moon, and Earth will align Sunday night for a total lunar eclipse on May 15, which occurs when the Earth moves into place between the Sun and the full moon. As a result, the Earth casts a giant shadow on the lunar surface, giving the moon a striking reddish hue, which is why lunar eclipses are also called blood moons.

Sunday’s full moon is also considered a supermoon, meaning it appears larger and brighter than usual because it is at the closest point in its orbit to Earth, also known as perigee.

The total lunar eclipse will be visible from parts of America, Antarctica, Europe, Africa and the Eastern Pacific. In the meantime, a penumbral eclipse, when the outer part of the Earth’s shadow covers the Moon, will be visible in New Zealand, Eastern Europe and the Middle East.

Related: How to watch Super Flower Blood Moon lunar eclipse online

If you want to photograph the Moon, check out our best astrophotography cameras and best astrophotography lenses. Read our guides on how to photograph a lunar eclipse, as well as how to photograph the moon with a camera, for some helpful tips on planning a lunar photo shoot.

This NASA chart shows the main stages of the May 2022 Super Flower Blood Moon and their timing. (Image credit: NASA)

Super Blood Moon Eclipse

January total lunar eclipse.  September 20-21, 2019, taken by astrophotographers Imelda Joson and Edwin Aguirre from suburban Boston.  From left to right: Totality begins at 11:41 pm EST on January 1st.  20;  the middle of totality, at 00:12 Jan.  21;  and the end of totality at 00:44

(Image credit: Imelda Joson and Edwin Aguirre)

If you photograph the 2021 total lunar eclipse, let us know! You can send images and comments to spacephotos@.

Depending on your location, the partial lunar eclipse will begin on May 15 at 10:28 pm EDT (02:28 GMT May 16). The Blood Moon will peak at 04:11 EST (0411 GMT) on May 16 before the lunar eclipse ends at 1:55 AM EST (05:55 GMT). According to TimeandDate.com, the penumbral lunar phase of the eclipse will start about an hour earlier and end about an hour after the partial eclipse.

Spectators lucky enough to be in the path of the lunar eclipse will have to get outside early to witness the event. Several live streams from NASA Science Live, Slooh and TimeandDate.com will also be available on YouTube.

Related: Stages of the 2022 Super Flower Blood Moon Explained

Visibility map of the Super Flower Blood Moon lunar eclipse on May 15, 2022. (Image credit: NASA Science Imaging Studio)

The NASA live stream will begin at 21:32 on May 15 (01:32 GMT on May 16). It will include discussion of eclipses, lunar science, and the agency’s Artemis moon landing program. Slooh, a website dedicated to the study of astronomy, will begin its webcast on May 15 at 21:30 ET (May 16, 01:30 GMT). TimeandDate plans to broadcast the total lunar eclipse, weather permitting, starting at 10:00 pm EDT on May 15 (02:00 GMT on May 16).

This will be the first of two lunar eclipses in 2022. The next eclipse will occur on November 8, 2022 and will be visible at least partially from Asia, Australia, North America, parts of northern and eastern Europe, the Arctic and most of South America, according to TimeandDate.com.

Editor’s note: If you’ve taken an amazing photo of a lunar eclipse and would like to share it with Space.com readers, please send your photos, comments, name, and location to spacephotos@.

Follow Samantha Mathewson @Sam_Ashley13. Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.

Back to top button